Letter from Charlotte Cushman to Emma Crow Cushman, June 27, 1869

Dublin Core


Letter from Charlotte Cushman to Emma Crow Cushman, June 27, 1869


Cushman, Edwin "Ned" Charles, 1838-1909
Cushman, Charlotte Saunders, 1816-1876
Travel Reports
Cushman, Emma Crow, 1839-1920


Cushman is feeling much better because of her water treatment. She deeply misses Emma and her children and hopes that they will join her in Malvern after their return from Paris.
Rosalie has improved in health, in part due to Cushman's care, and will be in town the following Friday.
Cushman asks Emma to forward a letter to Mrs. Hunt and arrange for Ned to forward some literature to Mrs. Tilton.


Library of Congress, Charlotte Cushman Papers, Manuscript Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.


Cushman, Charlotte Saunders, 1816-1876


LoC, CCP 4: 1134-1135





Letter Item Type Metadata


[1134] Now my darling a little word to you. to say that I am getting on well. & feel better for my water treatment. The Dr has begun very gently with me. & I feel that I can now bear more. so I shall go to him tomorrow. & ask for 'more' like [?] +++. the weather has taken an odd turn & we are in need of summer. so hot that I am obliged to keep down the blinds. & I hope you may be soon +++ out of Paris. & into the hells here. I do so want to see you all. & want so much to see the children. my eyes & arms & heart call out for them. There are some lodgings at Claremont House. almost opposite to me here. by the side of the little passage on to the +++ well baths. with a +++ farther [?] at the back. (which in sunny weather is better than where I am.) but this heat which has come so suddenly will begin to drive [?] people away

[1134 reverse] from the towns. & we shall be getting fuller. will you not come. & I will show you a book in which exactly your +++ is printed & this is the place for you to get good. you can take iron medicine as well here as over there [?] & the children will get good here. Do come. as soon as you are tired of Paris. & your expensive life there. I believe Mabel is to be sent down to be with me a little before going back to her school. she is showing symptoms of her trouble again. poor child. & they think she had better have a little more water treatment before she goes back to school the end of July. Dr M. has condescended to thank me for all my care of Rosalie & my kindness to her. he says she is much improved in her playing & singing [?]- I think she will be here on Friday next
Uncle Charles cannot come until the middle of July. It appears that on the 15" of June. a very remarkable +++ of heat [?] came in Rome. & there were a

[1135] +++ long calamities as consequence. +++ +++ +++ & +++ +++ will suffer I am afraid. An +++ +++ struck [?] his +++ & been ordered +++ +++ +++ +++. dont [sic] say, who it is! Is Mr. +++ going to his +++ +++? Wont [sic] he suffer? I am so very glad about +++. I hope Ned has written to tell him. what he has done for him on the matter. I had a nice little letter from Mrs Hunt. as +++ with them some lovely little poems. which you shall see. will you kindly see that the enclosed letter is forwarded to her. from +++ where [?] her letters are sent. did I tell you I had a sweet letter from Ms Peabody. poor soul. she is hard at work. & she bids me tell you that she shall have the loveliest Kindergarten school ready for your children when you come home to America. Do you see that +++ Graham has got the

[1135 reverse] appointment of consul at Florence?- +++ in his note. says that he has had a discharge evoke. for impertinence & carelessness. +++ very well. Will you ask Ned. dear, in his writing to +++. to tell him to send the "Every Saturday" & "+++ +++ +++". which come to the office forward [?] to Mrs Tilton. +++ +++. +++ to +++. I will pay him the postage he is obliged to prepay. dont [sic] forget to have this done, there's & dear. and now good bye. my darling. I love you & +++ with my heart with more sincerity than any body else knows how to. kiss my darling babies for me. I love them so much. I hope to hear from your father by the mail just in. Dr M may not have got back from +++ +++ mission to Kentucky. I am so glad they are going to Lenox for a bit. I hear from home they have had no +++ weather yet. God bless you darling. Ever your loving Auntie.


Cushman, Charlotte Saunders, 1816-1876


Cushman, Emma Crow, 1839-1920


Malvern, Worcestershire, UK

Geocode (Latitude)


Geocode (Longitude)


Social Bookmarking




Cushman, Charlotte Saunders, 1816-1876, “Letter from Charlotte Cushman to Emma Crow Cushman, June 27, 1869,” Archival Gossip Collection, accessed May 19, 2024, https://archivalgossip.com/collection/items/show/886.

Output Formats